to the tippy ↑

Permissions

Your permission level within Capsule defines the access you have to certain features and records within the account. Some features such as updating billing information and changing the ownership of the Capsule account can only be performed by the Super Administrator.

User roles

Users can have one of four roles in Capsule. In addition to the permission levels, the right to export data can be removed for individual users.

Restricted User

Teams Plan Feature available only on our Teams plan

Restricted users only have access to records assigned to themselves. They can view, edit and delete any record that has been assigned to them.

Standard User

Professional Plan - standard users on the Professional plan can view and update all contacts, opportunities, cases and tasks.

Teams Plan - standard users on the Teams plan can only view and update records assigned to the team(s) they belong to. As well as any unassigned records in the account.

Administrator

Administrators on both the Professional plan and Teams plan can view, update and delete any record in an account. They are also able to configure account settings. For example, Administrators can edit tags, custom fields, opportunity milestones and track templates. They can also add, amend and remove other users. Administrators also have the ability to bulk delete contacts. Standard users can not do this.

Super Administrator

The Super Administrator has the same level of access as an Administrator. In addition the Super Administrator is responsible for:

  • Ensuring users are meeting the Customer Terms.
  • Paying the monthly subscription if you are using the Professional or Teams plan.
  • Restoring records that have been accidentally deleted.

Capsule automatically assigns the Super Administrator role to the person who opens your account.

Chaning a user’s role

Over time you may find it necessary to change a user’s role within the Capsule account. Only Super Administrators or Administrators are able to change a user’s role.

To change a user’s role, go to Account Settings Users and Teams then click the name of the user. Under Role select the appropriate role > Save.

Note

The restricted user role is only available to customers on the Teams plan.

Export rights

Any administrator, standard user or restricted user can have export rights granted or whitheld.

Super Administrators and administrators on the account can edit user export permissions. To do this go to Account Settings Users and Teams click the name of the user you want to edit and either check or uncheck the box.

Note

If the right to export is removed from an administrator then the administrator will not be able to assign the right to other users.

Changing the Super Administrator

The current Super Administrator must assign the role to the new user by going to the Account Settings Account Change Super Administrator.

When you re-assign this role, only the new Super Administrator can upgrade, downgrade, cancel your account, receive your monthly invoice and re-assign Super Administrator to a different user.

The new Super Administrator may also wish to update the payment details for the account.

If you have a single user account, there are a couple of extra steps:

  1. First invite the new Super Administrator as user
  2. Assign the Super Administrator role to this user as explained above
  3. If you do not want the previous Super Administrator as a user, the new Super Administrator will need to log in to the account and delete the user
  4. If your current Super Administrator can’t re-assign the role, please contact us on support@capsulecrm.com

Adding a new user

In order to add a new Capsule user you need to be a Capsule account admin.

  1. Go to the Account Settings Users and Teams Add New User.
  2. Enter the details for the user including email address and username. Sepcify the user role and export rights. If you are a customer on the Teams plan you can add the user directly to a team(s) at this stage. Finish by clicking the button to Invite User.
  3. The user will be asked to create their own password when they follow the link from the invitation email.
  4. When the new user is added, Capsule sends an automated email notifying the Super Administrator the monthly subscription will be increased.

Alert

If your account is integrated with G Suite you will only be able to invite users that are on your G Suite domain.

Suspending a user

When you suspend a user; the user and their associated tasks will remain on Capsule but they will not be able to login.

You need to be a Capsule Admin to be able to suspend a user. Go to the Account Settings Users and Teams Click on the user you want to suspend. Under the username click the option to Suspend user

To reverse the suspension, follow the same process and select restore user instead.

Alert

Suspending a user is intended as a temporary action. It does not change the subscription cost.

Deleting a user

In order to delete a user in Capsule you need to be a Capsule Admin.

Go to the Account Settings Users and Teams click on the user you want to delete. Now use the option on the right hand side to Delete User.

Deleting a user reduces the subscription cost.

All history the user has entered such as emails and notes will be retained. All open tasks, cases and opportunities currently assigned to the user will be reassigned to a user of your choice.

Note

The Capsule Super Administrator cannot be deleted as a user. If the Super Adminstrator should no longer have access to Capsule a new user must be added first and the Super Administrator rights changed over to the new user. See instructions here.

Restoring records deleted by a user

If you or another user has accidentally deleted a record then those can be restored.

  • Only the Capsule Super Administrator has access to restore deleted records using the ‘trash’ facility

  • Deleted records are kept in the trash for 30 days before they are permanently deleted

If you are the Super Administrator then what you need to do is go to the Account Settings Trash - here you’ll see a list of all deletion entries in the last 30 days.

Each delete action represents a row in the trash. This could be a single email or a bulk delete of three contacts for example. Click the link to restore next to the row for the entry you’d like to restore.

If it’s a bulk delete for three contacts then the restore action will restore all three contacts.

Here’s a list of the different records that can be restored:

  • People & organizations along with any linked tasks, cases, opportunities, history and attachments
  • Opportunities & cases along with any linked tasks, history and attachments
  • Notes & emails along with any linked attachments
  • Attachments

Permanently deleting a record

If a customer has requested for their information to be permanently deleted then you have the option to ‘force’ the contact to be removed from trash even before the 30 days are up. To do that, delete the contact on its own and then go to your Account Settings Trash and then click the link next to the entry to Delete it.

Note

Just like restoring a record, you need to be the Super Administrator to be able to permanently delete a record.