How Can We Help?

User Management

User Roles

Standard User

Standard Users can view and update all Contacts, Opportunities, Cases, and Tasks.

Administrator

Administrators can do the same as Standard Users but are also able to:

  • Configure account settings, including editing Tags, adding Custom Fields, Opportunity Milestones and Track templates.
  • Add, edit and remove other Users.
  • Bulk delete Contacts.

Super Administrator

The Super Administrator has the same level of access as an Administrator. In addition, the Super Administrator is responsible for:

  • Ensuring users are meeting the Customer Terms.
  • Paying the monthly subscription if you are using the Professional or Teams plan.
  • Restoring records that have been accidentally deleted.
  • Capsule automatically assigns the Super Administrator role to the person who opens your account.

Learn more on the responsibilities of the Super Administrator.

Restricted User

Restricted users only have access to records assigned to themselves. They can view, edit and delete any record that has been assigned to them. Restricted users will only ever see tasks that are assigned to them. They do not have access to unassigned records.

Standard User

Standard Users can only view and update records assigned to the Team(s) they belong to. As well as any unassigned records in the account.

If records are unassigned in Capsule or are only assigned to an Owner and not a Team they will be visible to all Standard Users. You will need to assign the records to a Team to restrict the visibility of these records.

Standard users and Administrators will see all Tasks in Capsule. If a user does not have access to the record a Task is linked to they will only see the Task description.

Administrator

Administrators have access to all records in an account. They can also:

  • Configure account settings, including editing Tags, adding Custom Fields, Opportunity Milestones and Track templates.
  • Add, edit and remove other users.
  • Bulk delete contacts.

Super Administrator

The Super Administrator has the same level of access as an Administrator. In addition, the Super Administrator is responsible for:

  • Ensuring users are meeting the Customer Terms.
  • Paying the monthly subscription if you are using the Professional or Teams plan.
  • Restoring records that have been accidentally deleted.
  • Capsule automatically assigns the Super Administrator role to the person who opens your account.

Learn more on the responsibilities of the Super Administrator.

In addition to the permission levels, the right to export data can be granted or withheld for individual users.

How to Add a New User

If you’d like to invite a new user to join your account, that’s done by going to:

  1. Account Settings > Users and Teams
  2. Add New User

When adding a new user you will:

  • Enter the details for the user including email address and username.
  • Specify the user role and export rights.
  • If you are using the Teams plan you can add the user directly to a team(s) at this stage.
  • Finish by clicking the button to Invite User.

The new User will then receive an invitation to join Capsule via email. Here they will be provided with their username and asked to create their own password. They’ll also receive a link to access the account

Once the new user has been added, Capsule will send an automated email notifying the Super Administrator that the monthly subscription will be increased.

Pending users are included in the monthly subscription cost. You can see which users haven’t accessed the account from the Account Settings > Users and Teams .

User Export Rights

Standard Users with export permissions can export lists of Contacts, Cases, and Opportunities. Administrators with export permissions can also export an account for backup.

Export permissions can be set when adding or editing a user. To do that:

  1. Go to the Account Settings > Users and Teams
  2. Click the name of the user you want to edit
  3. Either check or uncheck the Allowed to export records to CSV, Excel or vCard box.

If the right to export is removed from an Administrator then that Administrator will not be able to assign the right to other users.

How to Change a User

If a person leaves the business and another starts, you might like to change which user is setup in Capsule. Rather than changing the username and email address for the existing user, it’s best to add the new user to the account first, and then remove the leaver. This ensures that the history in Capsule remains accurate and assigned to the correct user.

When removing the leaver, you will be prompted to reassign their open Tasks, Contacts Cases, and Opportunities to someone else. Adding the new user first means that you can easily reassign any ongoing work over to them.

The leaver’s note and email history will be retained in the account, so there’s no need to worry about losing any data.

As long as the leaver is removed from the account prior to the next billing date, there will not be any additional charges for having an extra user on the account.

How to Delete a User

You can remove a user from the account by:

  1. Going to the Account Settings > Users and Teams
  2. Click on the name of the User you want to delete
  3. Use the option to Delete User.

The Super Administrator cannot be deleted. The role must be reassigned to someone else before they can be removed from the account.

Deleting a user reduces the subscription cost. When a user is deleted, all history the user has entered such as emails and notes will be retained. All open Tasks, Cases, and Opportunities currently assigned to the user will be reassigned to a user of your choice.

How to Suspend a User

When you suspend a User, the User and their associated Tasks will remain in Capsule but they will not be able to log in.

You can suspend a Tser by going to;

  1. The Account Settings > Users and Teams
  2. Click on the name of the User you’d like to suspend.
  3. Under the username click the option to Suspend User

To reverse the suspension, follow the same process but this time select Restore User instead.

Suspending a user is intended as a temporary action and does not change the subscription cost. Suspended users will still be included in the monthly billing.

How to Change a User Role

Over time you may find it necessary to change a user’s role within the Capsule account. To change a user’s role:

  • Go to Account Settings > Users and Teams
  • Click the name of the User whose role you would like to change.
  • Under Role select the appropriate role > Save.
Didn’t find what you were looking for?
Contact us