Please note, as of 06/28/2022, we have relaunched Cases as Projects to enable you to better track progress on a project. Projects can do everything Cases can but with a much better overview of progress. You can continue to use Projects the same way as Cases if you prefer.
Over the lifetime of a Project you may find that you need to update details such as the description or the Owner of the Project. These changes can be made using the Edit button next to the Project name.
Tasks already on the Project will not automatically be re-assigned when you change the Project Owner, instead they will need to be updated manually.
If a Project has been added to a Board, you will want to update its Stage as it moves through the project delivery process.
To do that:
- Open the Project record
- Use the drop down menu on the right to select the Stage you would like to move the Project to
- The progress bar at the top of the Project record will update to match the current status.
You can also update a Project’s Stage from the Project Board view, using drag and drop to easily move the Project between each Stage.
If you are using Multiple Project Boards, you can move a Project from its existing board to another. To do that from the Project Board, drag the Project card towards the bottom of the page. Here you’ll see the option to ‘Move to another board’. This can also be done when editing a Project record.
Once a project is complete, you can update the Status of your Project to Closed. Closing a Project makes it clear to your colleagues that the project is complete whilst retaining all of the important information recorded on the record in Capsule.
To do this, when viewing a Project click the Close Project button in the top right to update its status. If the Project has a dedicated Board/Stage, you’ll need to select the option to Close Project from the drop down list displayed instead.
You can also close a Project directly from its Project Board by dragging the Project card towards the bottom of the page. Here you’ll see the option to either ‘Close’ the Project or to move it to another Board if you’re using Multiple Project Boards.
When a Project is closed, any open tasks on the Project, whether part of a track or not, will become in-active and are removed from the calendar. We’ll display a message to make you aware of this when closing the Project.
You can reopen a Project at any time using the same button which will now say Re-Open Project. Reopening the Project will also set any incomplete tasks to active and they will reappear on both the Project and in the Calendar.
When a Project is Closed it remains on the history for all linked Contacts. Capsule has a number of standard closed Project lists you can use to easily find these Projects. If you ever need to reopen a Project, Capsule makes it simple to find.