How Can We Help?

Sage Business Cloud integration

The Sage Business Cloud (UK) integration allows you to keep your customers in sync and gives you an instant overview of what invoices you have for a contact without ever leaving their contact record in Capsule. It also makes it super simple to add new contacts from Capsule to Sage Business Cloud when you want to start invoicing them.

Currently the Sage Business Cloud integration is only available for Sage Business Cloud UK users.

What does the Sage Business Cloud integration do?

Integrating Capsule with Sage will automatically add all your Sage contacts into your Capsule account.

All invoice information in Sage is summarized in Capsule including;

  • Payment due dates,
  • Whether an invoice has been paid
  • Overdue amounts on the linked contact record in Capsule.

Once the integration is setup and working, Capsule will keep updating Sage with any changes you make to your contact records, so you should always treat Capsule as your source of truth, e.g. if you update an address in Capsule, the corresponding contact in Sage will be automatically updated as well.

Lastly, new Capsule contacts can also be easily added to Sage when you are ready to raise an invoice.

How to setup the Sage Business Cloud integration

In Capsule, go to Account Settings Integrations Sage and click the button to Configure Sage. Click the button to Connect to Sage Business Cloud Accounting. You will now be asked to log in to Sage to give Capsule access to your Sage account. The integration is now up and running.

An initial sync takes place from Sage to Capsule, linking up existing Capsule contacts with their corresponding Sage contacts as well as adding any contacts not already existing in Capsule; as explained here.

If you are on Capsule’s Teams Edition

There isn’t a way Capsule can automatically assign a user/team to a new contact record when created from a new Sage contact. If you are using Capsule’s Teams plan to assign your contacts to different teams in Capsule, you will need to make sure to assign new contacts created from Sage to the correct team in Capsule. In the meantime, all users can view this contact. You can learn more on how to assign the contacts to a team here.

Note that the Sage Business Cloud integration in Capsule is only available for Sage Business Cloud Accounting, not for Payroll.

Excluding Sage Business Cloud supplier invoices

Suppliers can be treated differently to customers. If you’d prefer to not share supplier invoices with your users you can select to exclude their invoices from being displayed in Capsule.

Go to Account Settings Integrations Sage, check the box to exclude supplier invoices and click Save. The Supplier contacts will still show in Capsule but their invoices will not.

What happens during the Sage Business Cloud sync?

There are regular 2 hour syncs between Sage and Capsule. Where there’s a new Sage contact, this contact will be uploaded into Capsule. At this point:

  • If the contact doesn’t already exist in Capsule, a new contact will be created
  • Those that can be matched by name will be automatically linked.

Exporting contacts from Capsule to Sage Business Cloud

If you have a contact in Capsule not displaying any Sage information, and you want this contact in Sage, simply click on ‘Export to Sage. This saves having to manually add this contact to Sage for invoicing.

Where an individual is linked to an organization in Capsule, it is expected you are wanting to invoice the organization not the individual. Capsule exports the organization, and the person record you are exporting from will be treated as the ‘Contact Person’ field in Sage. The following fields are populated in Sage from Capsule:

  • Name of organization
  • Contact Person (where export is from the person record in Capsule)
  • First Email address
  • First Phone number
  • Mobile Phone
  • First Address
  • Postal Address

The integration will overwrite addresses in Sage with that in Capsule. If the address in Sage is correct and the address in Capsule is incorrect, it’s important the address in Capsule in updated before enabling the sync to avoid losing the correct information.

Deleting and managing duplicates with Sage Business Cloud

Duplicates may occur because of the integration. If there is a slight difference in spelling of a contact between Capsule and Sage, the sync with treat the customer in Sage as new and create a duplicate contact in Capsule. If duplicates are accidentally created, you can merge them following the steps here. These need to be merged with the exact same name as what is stored in Sage, or Sage will continue to send the ‘new’ contact to Capsule.

Deleting a contact has to happen in both Sage and Capsule, in that order. Deleting a contact in Capsule first, without deleting the contact in Sage will mean that the contact will be added to Capsule again the next time the sync takes place. Because of this it is important to delete the contact in Sage and then delete it in Capsule.

Using Sage Business Cloud as a B2B vs B2C Business

When dealing with people for the Sage Business Cloud integration we split contacts into B2C contacts (people not associated with an organization) and B2B contacts (people associated with an organization).

When exporting a B2C contact to Sage Business Cloud, the Person’s details are exported to the accounting system. We are expecting invoices will be issued to this person. When exporting a B2B contact we export only the organization’s details. We do this because in a B2B relationship invoices are almost always issued to an organization rather than a person.

When you use the option to Export to Sage Business Cloud from a Person’s contact record, the first and last name for the Person is used in the 'Contact Person’ field in Sage Business Cloud and all other details added to Sage Business Cloud will be from the Organization.

Didn’t find what you were looking for?
Contact us